Comparison
Toast vs Square vs Clover vs Opero: a restaurant POS comparison
Toast, Square for Restaurants, Clover and Opero compared side by side: hardware, plans, devices, card processing, terms and the honest gaps, with every competitor figure copied from that vendor's own pricing page and dated.
There is no single best restaurant POS, only the best fit for how you run. Toast sells deep restaurant tooling and a long add-on catalogue on approved Toast hardware. Square for Restaurants is the easiest start, with a free plan, published card rates and per-device fees for its kitchen display and kiosk software on paid plans. Clover sells its own devices, software and processing as one package, with held-card bar tabs and purpose-built handhelds. Opero runs on Android tablets you own at one price per location with unlimited devices and month-to-month terms, but has no offline mode, takes cards only through Opero and has no bar-tab pre-authorization. Choose Toast if you need depth and an ecosystem, Square if you want the lowest-commitment start, Clover if you want hardware and processing from one provider, and Opero if you want a flat bill for a room full of screens.
Toast vs Square vs Clover vs Opero at a glance
| Comparison point | Opero | Toast | Square | Clover |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Software price structure | One price per location per month: $149 (Opero) or $249 (Opero Full-Service); Enterprise custom | Starter Kit, Point of Sale plan, and Build Your Own at custom pricing; figures in the sourced table | Free, Plus and Premium plans priced per location, plus custom Square Pro pricing; figures in the sourced table | Starter, Standard and Advanced full-service packages that bundle devices and software; figures in the sourced table |
| Hardware | ✓Android tablets and phones you already own or buy anywhere; one card reader for each register or kiosk that takes cards, bought from Opero | Approved Toast hardware only, per its pricing FAQ | Sells its own devices; its FAQ says you do not need to buy hardware to take payments | Clover devices in every full-service package; its FAQ says they cannot be used with other processors |
| Extra registers, kiosks and kitchen screens | ✓Unlimited on every plan, no per-device fee | Starter Kit covers up to two terminals; its footnote says additional devices are charged | Kitchen display app and kiosk software priced per device on paid plans, not offered on the free plan | Device count is set by the full-service package; more stations mean more Clover hardware |
| Card processing | Only through Opero, quoted per business, no published rate; Opero takes no marketplace commission | Described as a flat rate; no figure on its pricing page | Published per plan, lower on the higher plans | Published for in-person and typed-in cards on its full-service restaurant pricing page |
| Commitment | Month-to-month on every plan | Not stated on its pricing page; confirm with Toast | Its FAQ says paid plans can be cancelled or switched anytime | Full-service packages priced over a fixed term; its FAQ says subscriptions are non-cancelable |
| When the internet drops | No offline mode; every screen needs a working connection | Offline mode listed among its headline features | Offline payments listed on every plan, with conditions | Not stated on the pages we checked; confirm with Clover |
| Bar tabs on a held card | No card pre-authorization; an unpaid order is paid later from the Unpaid panel | Confirm on Toast's site | Confirm on Square's site | Open tabs with card pre-authorization in every full-service restaurant package |
| Table service | Floor plan, host-run reservations, waitlist, tableside handhelds and split table checks on Opero Full-Service; rounds fire when sent or when paid, with no hold-and-fire by course | Confirm firing and seating options on Toast's site | Coursing and seat management listed among Premium's top features | Tableside ordering and firing in the Standard and Advanced full-service packages, not Starter |
| Self-order kiosk and kitchen display | ✓Unlimited pay-first kiosks (English and Spanish) and unlimited kitchen screens on every plan | Confirm kiosk and kitchen display packaging on Toast's site | Both priced per device on paid plans | Kiosk and Kitchen Display System sold as Clover devices |
| Discounts and refunds | Coupon codes and loyalty points; no manual comps or price overrides; full refunds only | Confirm on Toast's site | Confirm on Square's site | Item and order-level discounts in every full-service package |
| Inventory, labor and payroll | Inventory with recipe costing and labor scheduling on Opero Full-Service; no payroll | Payroll, scheduling and inventory suites in its pricing chart and add-ons, plus a POS and payroll bundle offered to new restaurants | Inventory tracking listed on Plus; Square Payroll sold separately | Stock tracking in every full-service package; payroll integrations an optional add-on |
| Multi-location | ✓Unlimited locations, one dashboard and per-location menus by copy-then-edit, on every plan | Multilocation management listed in its Restaurant Management Pro suite | Plans priced per location; confirm multi-location tools on Square's site | Confirm with Clover or the provider that sold it |
| Ecosystem and integrations | Younger platform with a shorter integration list; modules are built in rather than bought | Partner Connect marketplace and a long add-on catalogue | App marketplace and developer APIs | Hundreds of apps in the Clover App Market, per its FAQ |
Comparison reflects each platform's general model; always confirm each vendor's current plans and terms on its own website.
- How this comparison was built
- Toast: deep restaurant tooling on Toast hardware
- Square for Restaurants: the easiest start
- Clover: devices, software and processing in one package
- Opero: unlimited devices at one price per location
- Where each one wins
- What Opero does not do
- How to compare total cost across all four
- Switching between them
- Published prices and terms, as shown on each vendor's own site
Most restaurant POS comparisons pit two systems against each other. Buyers usually have three or four open in different tabs. This page puts Toast, Square for Restaurants, Clover and Opero (operoos.com) side by side on the questions that decide a purchase: whose hardware you run, how the price is built, what happens to card processing, how long you are committed, and what each system cannot do. Opero loses several rows, and the table says so.
How this comparison was built
Competitor figures appear in one place only: the sourced tables near the end of this page, copied exactly from each vendor's own pricing page, with the link and the date we checked it. Nothing comes from memory, review sites or estimates, and where a vendor's page shows no figure, the table says so. Qualitative statements in the comparison come from the same pages; where those pages were silent, the cell sends you to the vendor's site to confirm. Opero's own prices are $149 per location per month for the Opero plan and $249 for Opero Full-Service, with Enterprise quoted.
Prices on these sites change, and resellers quote differently from list prices, so treat the sourced tables as a starting point and confirm current pricing on each vendor's site before you sign.
Toast: deep restaurant tooling on Toast hardware
Toast is built for restaurants, and its pricing page shows it: a Starter Kit aimed at single locations with one or two terminals, a Point of Sale plan, a Build Your Own option at custom pricing, and a long chart of add-on suites for online ordering, marketing and loyalty, scheduling and payroll, supplier and accounting tools, and multi-location management. Its FAQ says Toast's services may only be used on approved Toast hardware. Processing is described as a flat rate without a figure on the pricing page, and offline mode and around-the-clock support are listed among its headline features. Contract length is not stated on that page, so ask before you sign.
Square for Restaurants: the easiest start
Square publishes three priced restaurant plans per location, starting with a free plan, plus custom Square Pro pricing for high-volume businesses, and its card rates step down as the plan steps up. The kitchen display app and the kiosk software are priced per device on the paid plans and are not offered on the free one, so a busy kitchen with several screens pays for each. Its FAQ says the paid plans include a free trial and can be cancelled or switched anytime, and that you do not need to buy hardware to take payments. Square lists offline payments on every plan, with conditions set out in its footnote.
Clover: devices, software and processing in one package
Clover's full-service restaurant pricing page sells packages that combine Clover devices with its Restaurant Growth software, each available as one monthly price over a fixed term or as an upfront hardware price plus a smaller monthly fee. Card rates are published for in-person and typed-in transactions. Every full-service package lists table mapping, open tabs with card pre-authorization, item and order-level discounts, online ordering, stock tracking and shift management, and the Standard and Advanced packages add tableside ordering and firing. Clover's pricing FAQ says its subscriptions are non-cancelable, that its devices cannot be used with other processors, and that contract terms vary by the provider who sold you the system.
Opero: unlimited devices at one price per location
Opero is a restaurant operating system that runs on the Android tablets and phones you already own. The Opero plan ($149 per location per month) includes the POS, unlimited kitchen screens and pay-first self-order kiosks, QR and online pickup ordering, menu boards, a guest database with loyalty and coupons, and reporting with a multi-location dashboard. Opero Full-Service ($249) adds table service, inventory with recipe costing and labor scheduling. Every plan is month-to-month with unlimited devices. The one piece of hardware you must buy is the card reader, one for each register or kiosk that takes cards, bought from Opero, and card processing runs only through Opero at a rate quoted per business.
Where each one wins
- Toast wins on restaurant depth and ecosystem: a long add-on catalogue on its pricing page, a POS and payroll bundle offered to new restaurants, multi-location management, and offline mode listed among its headline features.
- Square wins on the lowest-commitment start: a free plan, published card rates, a free trial on paid plans, and cancellation anytime according to its FAQ.
- Clover wins for bars that hold a card on a tab, for operators who want purpose-built handhelds from the same vendor, and for owners who want the POS sold through their bank.
- Opero wins when the device count is the problem: unlimited registers, kiosks and kitchen screens with no per-device software fee, at one per-location price, on Android tablets you own, month-to-month.
When Opero is not the better pick
If your bar runs on held-card tabs, Clover lists them in every full-service restaurant package. If you course a dining room, Square lists coursing and seat management on Premium. If your connection drops often, Toast and Square both list offline operation on their pricing pages. In each of those cases one of them is the better pick today; confirm current features on its own site.
What Opero does not do
- No offline mode: every register, kiosk and kitchen screen needs a working internet connection.
- No other processor and no published card rate: payments run through Opero and are quoted per business.
- Android only: Opero does not run on other tablet platforms or on Toast, Square or Clover hardware.
- No manual comps or price overrides, and full refunds only.
- No merging checks, no hold-and-fire by course, and no bar-tab pre-authorization.
- Reservations are host-run, with no online guest self-booking.
- No gift cards, and sales history, saved cards, gift card balances and loyalty points do not move over from another system.
How to compare total cost across all four
Software price is the easiest number to compare and the least useful on its own. Build a twelve-month total for each system using your own counts:
- Software for every location, on the plan that actually covers how you run (table service, inventory and labor often sit on higher tiers).
- Every device: registers, handhelds, kiosks and kitchen screens, including any per-device software fees and hardware bought, financed or bundled into a term.
- Card processing on a real month of your sales, in person and online. This is usually the largest line, and the one most often left out of comparisons.
- Add-ons you would buy on day one: online ordering, loyalty, payroll, apps.
- The cost of leaving: the remaining term, buyout or return terms, and what it takes to move your menu and staff.
Price the hardware side of each option before you compare quotes.
Read the POS hardware cost guideSwitching between them
Moving from any of these systems to another is mostly a question of what carries over. Moving to Opero, your menu comes across through an import that reads Toast, Square and Clover item exports and waits for your review before anything goes live. Sales history, saved cards, gift card balances, loyalty points and the old hardware do not move. Each location applies for its own Opero merchant account, which is underwritten before you can charge a card, so keep your current processing live until a real sale has gone through on the new reader. Check your current agreement's end date and buyout terms before you set a date.
The full list of what moves from Toast, Square or Clover, and the order to do it in.
Read the switching guideLeaving Clover specifically? The buyer's guide covers its package terms and the alternatives.
Read the Clover alternative guidePublished prices and terms, as shown on each vendor's own site
Every competitor figure on this page is here and nowhere else, copied exactly from that vendor's own pricing page on the date shown. These are US list prices; Clover's are for its full-service restaurant packages. Prices and terms change; confirm current pricing on each vendor's site before you compare quotes.
| Toast | As shown on pos.toasttab.com |
|---|---|
| Starter Kit | Starting at $0/month; "1 location, up to 2 terminals"; "Hardware kit with no upfront costs." Footnote 1: "Pricing includes first hardware terminal subscription. Additional charges apply for subsequent devices." Footnote *: "Pricing applies to new customers and single locations only." |
| Point of Sale plan | Starting at $69/month. "Monthly software subscription. Choose your own hardware." Footnote 1: "Pricing includes first hardware terminal subscription. Additional charges apply for subsequent devices." |
| Build Your Own plan | Custom pricing |
| POS and Payroll bundle ("Special Toast pricing for new restaurants") | Starting at $69/month + $9 per employee/month, shown as a special offer for new restaurants with an original price of $90 struck through |
| Card processing rate | Quote only / not published (the page lists "Simple, flat rate" with no figure) |
| Own hardware | Pricing FAQ: Toast's services "may only be used on approved Toast hardware" |
| Offline mode | Listed among the pricing page's headline features |
| Contract term | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Add-on suites (pricing comparison chart) | Digital Storefront, Marketing, Team Management, Payroll, Supplier and Accounting (xtraCHEF) and Restaurant Management suites; "Restaurant Management Pro: Essentials, plus multilocation management and analytics API" |
| Support | "Toast Care is included in every software subscription at no additional cost", 24/7/365 by phone or web messaging |
| Partner Connect | Described as a marketplace of tech partners "certified to work with Toast" |
| Toast | As shown on pos.toasttab.com |
|---|---|
| Hardware | Starting at $0. Footnote: "$0 applies to first device hardware only. Software and processing fees apply." |
| Square | As shown on squareup.com |
|---|---|
| Square Free plan | $0/mo. per location |
| Square Plus plan | $49/mo. per location |
| Square Premium plan | $149/mo. per location |
| Square Pro | "Get custom pricing": "If you process over $250,000 per year, talk to our team to see if you're eligible for custom pricing and processing fees." |
| In-person processing (tap, dip, or swipe) | Square Free 2.6% + 15¢; Square Plus 2.5% + 15¢; Square Premium 2.4% + 15¢ |
| Online processing | Square Free 3.3% + 30¢; Square Plus 2.9% + 30¢; Square Premium 2.9% + 30¢ |
| Square KDS app | Not available in Square Free; $30/mo. per device on Square Plus; $20/mo. per device on Square Premium |
| Square Kiosk | Not available in Square Free; $99/mo. per device on Square Plus and Square Premium |
| Trial and cancellation | "Square Plus and Square Premium each offer a free 30-day trial, and you can cancel or switch plans anytime." |
| Hardware | "You do not need to purchase hardware to take payments with Square." Hardware "options starting at $59." |
| Offline payments | Listed under "Included with every plan", with conditions in the page's footnote |
| Coursing and seat management | Listed among Square Premium's top food and beverage features |
| Inventory | "Integrated inventory tracking and close of day reports" listed among Square Plus's top food and beverage features |
| Square Payroll | "Run full-service payroll starting at $35 per month + $6 per person paid." |
| Hardware (site menu) | Handheld; Terminal; Register; Stand; Kiosk; Reader for contactless and chip; Reader for magstripe; Accessories; Kits; All hardware |
| Developers (site menu) | Developers APIs; App marketplace; Partner directories |
| Clover | As shown on clover.com |
|---|---|
| Starter full-service package (Station Solo; software plan Restaurant Growth) | $179/mo for 36 months, or $1,799 + $89.95/mo |
| Standard full-service package (Station Solo and Flex; Restaurant Growth) | $239/mo for 36 months, or $2,548 + $109.90/mo |
| Advanced full-service package (Station Solo, Flex and Station Duo; Restaurant Growth) | $354/mo for 36 months, or $4,447 + $129.85/mo |
| Card tapped, swiped, or inserted (full-service packages) | 2.3% + 10¢ |
| Card information typed in (full-service packages) | 3.5% + 10¢ |
| Order management | Table mapping; Open tabs with card pre-authorization; Bill splitting; Item and order-level discounts; Contactless dining (QR-code order & pay); Tipping: included in all three full-service packages |
| Tableside ordering and firing | Not included in Starter; included in Standard and Advanced (full-service packages) |
| Tap cards and mobile wallets | Not included in Starter; Flex only in Standard; Flex and Station Duo in Advanced |
| Item and order-level discounts | Included in all three full-service packages |
| Stock tracking and marking "sold out" by item | Included in all three full-service packages |
| Online ordering | Clover online menu page; No-fee online ordering; Pick-up and delivery order types; Remote order firing: included in all three full-service packages |
| Employees | Individual logins and permissions; Shift management: included in all three full-service packages |
| Payroll integrations | Optional add-on |
| Where these prices apply | "Prices shown are only available on Clover.com." |
| Clover | As shown on clover.com |
|---|---|
| Subscription cancellation (pricing FAQ) | "Subscriptions are non-cancelable and ineligible for refunds. However, a subscription agreement can be broken during a buyout or upgrade situation." |
| Termination fees (pricing FAQ) | "Contract terms and any termination fees can vary based on your service provider, whether Clover Direct or among our trusted partners including Citi, PNC and Wells Fargo, or from more than 3,000 other financial institution partners that also sell Clover solutions in the US." |
| Payment processor (pricing FAQ) | Clover POS devices "cannot be used with other payment processors" |
| Apps (pricing FAQ) | "hundreds of business management software apps in the Clover App Market" |
| Hardware devices (site menu) | Go, Compact, Flex Pocket, Flex, Mini, Station Solo, Station Duo, Kiosk, Kitchen Display System |
Toast, Square and Clover vs Opero: FAQ
Which is better for restaurants: Toast, Square or Clover?
It depends on the restaurant. Toast suits operators who want deep restaurant tooling and a large add-on catalogue on Toast hardware. Square suits counter-service spots that want a free plan, published card rates and the freedom to cancel. Clover suits owners who want devices, software and processing from one provider, with held-card bar tabs. Opero suits operators who want unlimited Android devices at one price per location, month-to-month.
Which restaurant POS is cheapest?
There is no single answer, because the total depends on your device count and card volume. Square has a free plan but charges per device for its kitchen display and kiosk software on paid plans; Clover bundles devices into full-service packages; Toast's Build Your Own plan is priced on request. Opero is $149 or $249 per location per month with unlimited devices, plus card processing quoted for your business. Total a full year for each, using the sourced figures on this page.
Which of these systems keep working without internet?
Toast lists offline mode on its pricing page, and Square lists offline payments on every plan with conditions in its footnote. The Clover pages we checked did not state it, so confirm with Clover. Opero has no offline mode: every register, kiosk and kitchen screen needs a working connection, and orders and payments stop when it drops.
Can I use my own tablets with Toast, Square, Clover or Opero?
Toast's pricing FAQ says its services run only on approved Toast hardware, and Clover's FAQ says its devices cannot be used with other processors. Square says you do not need to buy hardware to take payments and also sells its own devices; check its site for supported devices. Opero runs on Android tablets you already own, with one card reader for each register or kiosk that takes cards, bought from Opero.
Do any of them lock me into a contract?
Clover's full-service restaurant pricing page prices its packages over a fixed term, and its FAQ says subscriptions are non-cancelable. Square's FAQ says paid plans can be cancelled or switched anytime. Toast's pricing page does not state a term, so ask Toast directly. Opero is month-to-month on every plan. Whatever you choose, read the cancellation and end-of-term clauses in the agreement itself.
Why does Opero publish its software price but not its card rate?
Opero's plans are the same for everyone, so they are published. Card processing depends on your volume, card mix and how you take payments, so Opero quotes it per business rather than publishing one rate, and Opero takes no marketplace commission. Square and Clover publish card rates on their own pages, which makes them easier to compare up front; that is a point in their favor.
How current are the prices on this page?
Every competitor figure was copied from that vendor's own pricing page on the date shown next to it, and each table links to the page it came from. Prices, plans and promotions change often, and resellers may quote differently, so confirm current pricing on the vendor's site before you rely on any figure here.
Run your whole restaurant on the tablets you already own
POS, kiosk, QR ordering, kitchen display, inventory, labor, and payments on one spine: one per-location price, unlimited devices, no per-device fees.
More comparisons
Opero vs Toast
A Toast alternative with no proprietary terminals: run POS, kiosk, QR, and KDS on the tablets you already own.
Opero vs Square for Restaurants
A deeper restaurant OS than Square's POS: KDS and multi-location on every plan, inventory and labor on Full-Service, on hardware you already own.
Opero vs Clover
An all-in-one alternative to Clover's terminals and app marketplace: run your restaurant on tablets you own.
Opero vs GoTab
GoTab is another bring-your-own-device restaurant POS with public pricing: guest-led QR tabs, Android, iOS and Windows support, and a base plan plus per-device add-ons. Opero is Android only, one price per location, unlimited devices, pay-first QR ordering, and no tab pre-authorization.