Comparison

Opero vs ChowNow

Opero vs ChowNow compared: a full restaurant operating system (register, kitchen display, kiosk, QR and online pickup ordering) on Android tablets you own, vs ChowNow's commission-free ordering, branded app and marketing layer that works with the POS you already have.

The short answer

ChowNow and Opero both let a restaurant take direct, commission-free orders, but they are different kinds of product. ChowNow is an ordering and marketing layer: a branded ordering page and app, a discovery network, marketing and rewards, connected to the POS you already run through one of its many integrations. Opero is a restaurant operating system: the register, kitchen display, kiosk, QR ordering and a pickup ordering page are one system on Android tablets you own, billed at one price per location with no per-order software fee. ChowNow is the better pick if you like your current POS and want a branded app, outside discovery and a wider ordering feature set added to it. Opero is the better fit if you are choosing a register anyway and want pickup ordering that reads the same menu and lands on the same kitchen screen with nothing to integrate. Opero's page is pickup only, same-day only, has no branded app or custom domain, and is not sold without the register.

Opero vs ChowNow at a glance

Comparison pointOperoChowNow
What it isA restaurant operating system: register, kitchen display, self-order kiosk, QR table ordering, online pickup ordering, menu boards, guest database and loyalty in one system.A commission-free online-ordering and marketing platform that sits on top of a separate POS.
Works with the POS you already haveNo. Online ordering is a module of the Opero register and is not sold on its own; using it means switching the register to Opero.Yes. ChowNow is POS-agnostic, with a long list of named POS integrations, each with its own page.
Commission on direct ordersNone. No commission and no per-order software fee from Opero; card processing is quoted for your volume.None. ChowNow built its name on commission-free direct ordering.
How the bill is built✓One price per location per month ($149 Opero, $249 Opero Full-Service, Enterprise custom); online ordering is included and the bill never counts devices or orders.A tiered monthly subscription for the ordering layer plus a per-transaction charge and a setup charge, on top of whatever you pay for your POS and processing. Confirm current plans on ChowNow's site.
Order to kitchen✓The online order goes through the same checkout path as the kiosk and lands on the kitchen display and printers like a counter order, marked online pickup with the time. Nothing to integrate.Orders reach your kitchen through ChowNow's integration with your POS, or on a printer ChowNow sells; confirm the integration for your POS on ChowNow's site.
Branded app and websiteNo branded mobile app. The ordering page lives on operoos.com and embeds in your own Wix, Squarespace or WordPress site; no custom domain.A branded mobile app for your restaurant and a restaurant website product are part of the platform.
Discovery and listingsNone. You drive guests to your ordering link from your site, social profiles, a QR code or your receipts.A discovery network places your ordering on major search, review and map listings, and a marketplace adds reach.
Delivery for the guestNot on the ordering page; pickup only. Delivery orders are keyed in at the register and handed to a DoorDash Drive courier, which is early access on Opero Full-Service.A delivery product (Flex Delivery) is part of the platform; confirm how it works and where it is offered on ChowNow's site.
Third-party marketplace ordersUber Eats ingestion is in early access pending Uber's approval; DoorDash Marketplace is on the roadmap. No aggregation today.An order-aggregation product for marketplace orders is part of the platform; confirm which marketplaces it covers on ChowNow's site.
Guest data and loyaltyA guest record is built automatically from the ordering page, kiosk and register, with visits, spend and points on one record; guests earn points online and spend them at the kiosk or on a check.Full ownership of your customer data and a rewards program are core to the pitch.
MarketingEmail campaigns to eight guest segments with an attachable coupon and a redemption report; included on Opero Full-Service, a $19.99 per month add-on on Opero.Email and text marketing are built into the platform, with capacity that grows by tier.
HardwareAndroid tablets you already own for every screen, plus one card reader for each register or kiosk that takes cards, bought from Opero. No offline mode.No POS hardware to buy from ChowNow; you keep your POS and its devices.
CommitmentMonth-to-month, per location; cancel or change plans any month.Contract terms are not stated on the pricing page; confirm them on ChowNow's site before you sign.

Comparison reflects each platform's general model; always confirm ChowNow's current plans and terms on its own website.

Searches for a ChowNow alternative usually come from one of two places: a restaurant that wants commission-free ordering and is comparing ordering platforms, or a restaurant that is replacing its POS and wonders whether online ordering should come from the register instead of a separate vendor. This page is for the second reader as much as the first, because that is the real difference between the two products.

What each product actually is

ChowNow is an online-ordering and marketing layer for independent restaurants. It gives you a commission-free ordering page, a branded mobile app, a website if you want one, listings on a discovery network across major search, review and map services, a marketplace, QR ordering, catering, email and text marketing, a rewards program and a delivery option, and it connects to the POS you already run through a long list of named integrations. It is deliberately not a POS and sells no POS hardware.

Opero is a restaurant operating system. The register, kitchen display, self-order kiosk, QR table ordering, menu boards, guest database, loyalty points and coupons run on Android tablets you already own, and the online pickup ordering page is one more surface of that same system. There is no ordering product to buy, connect or sync: the page reads the menu your register uses, and the orders it produces are ordinary Opero orders.

The one-sentence difference

ChowNow is what you add when you keep your POS. Opero is what you choose when the register, the kitchen screen and the ordering page should be the same system.

Online ordering as a module of the register

Opero's ordering page is a per-location pickup page on operoos.com that you link from your site, your social profiles or a QR code, or embed inside your own Wix, Squarespace or WordPress site with a plain HTML snippet. A guest sees the same menu, prices and 86'd items as the register, in the same photo-tile layout as the kiosk, picks ASAP or a 15-minute slot later today inside your hours, adds a name and an optional phone or email for a receipt, picks a tip from your presets and pays by card on the page. The order is created only after the card clears, so an abandoned cart never fires a ticket, and it lands on the kitchen display and prints through the same routing as a counter order, marked online pickup with the time the guest chose.

  • One checkout path for kiosk, QR table and online orders, so an online order is priced, taxed, tipped and receipted exactly like an in-store one and sits in the same reports.
  • Per-location prep time, a cutoff before close, and a pause of 15, 30 or 60 minutes (or until you turn it back on) that resumes by itself and is recorded on the Command Center timeline.
  • A multi-location link where guests pick a location and see whether it is open, closed or paused right now.
  • English and Spanish for the guest, on the page and the receipt.
  • Guests can join rewards and earn points on the order; the guest record is built automatically with visits, spend and points shared with the kiosk and the register.

The limits are just as concrete. The page is pickup only and same-day only; a guest cannot choose delivery, enter an address or pre-order for tomorrow. There is no coupon box and no points redemption on the page (both happen at the kiosk or on a check at the register), no branded app, no custom domain, no guest-facing order-status tracker, and no offline mode anywhere in Opero. And it is not sold on its own: your location has to be live for card payments with Opero before the page takes a single order.

What ChowNow includes that Opero does not

Because ChowNow is only an ordering and marketing layer, it goes much deeper on that layer than Opero's module does. The gaps below are real, and a restaurant whose growth depends on them should weigh them heavily.

  • Discovery: ChowNow's discovery network puts your ordering in front of guests on the search, review and map services they already use. Opero has nothing like it; guests reach your page because you sent them there.
  • A branded mobile app with your name on it. Opero's ordering is a web page with no app to download, which is simpler for the guest but gives you no icon on their phone.
  • A restaurant website product. Opero embeds in the site you already have; it does not build one.
  • A delivery product for direct orders. On Opero, delivery orders are keyed in at the register and dispatched to a DoorDash Drive courier, which is early access on Opero Full-Service.
  • Order aggregation for third-party marketplaces. Opero's Uber Eats path is early access pending Uber's approval, and DoorDash Marketplace is on the roadmap.
  • Catering ordering. Opero has no catering, invoicing or future-date ordering today.
  • Works with the POS you already have, so you can add it without a register change.

How the two bills are built

This is where the shapes differ most, and it has nothing to do with whose number is lower. With ChowNow you pay a tiered monthly subscription for the ordering layer, a per-transaction charge on each online order and a setup charge, and all of that sits on top of what your POS and its processing already cost you. Contract terms are not stated on ChowNow's pricing page, so ask before you sign, and confirm every figure on ChowNow's own site because plans change.

With Opero there is one bill: $149 per location per month for Opero, $249 for Opero Full-Service, or a custom Enterprise price, month-to-month, with no device count and no order count anywhere in it. Online pickup ordering, QR ordering, the kiosk, the kitchen display, menu boards, coupons, the guest database and loyalty points are inside that price on every plan. Opero charges no commission and no per-order software fee; what you pay per order is card processing, which Opero quotes for your volume rather than publishing as a flat rate. The hardware line is short: Android tablets you already own for every screen, and one card reader for each register or kiosk that takes cards, bought from Opero, which handles in-person cards at the counter (online orders are paid on the page and never touch it).

When ChowNow is the better pick

We would rather you choose well than choose us. ChowNow is the better fit when:

  • You like the POS you run today and want to add commission-free ordering without touching the register.
  • Outside discovery matters: you want your ordering listed where guests already search, review and look at maps, not just on your own site.
  • A branded mobile app, a built website or catering ordering is on your must-have list.
  • You want a delivery option on your direct orders, or you want marketplace orders aggregated into one place today.
  • You run on a POS that has nothing to do with Android tablets and have no plan to change that.

When Opero is the better pick

  • You are choosing or replacing a register anyway and want online pickup ordering that is part of it, not connected to it.
  • Pickup is your online business: order-ahead with a time slot, paid before the ticket fires, with a pause switch for a slammed kitchen.
  • You want one guest record across the ordering page, the kiosk and the register, with points earned everywhere, and coupons you can attach to an email campaign and measure at the register.
  • You want one per-location bill with no per-order software fee, no per-device fee and no second vendor to reconcile.
  • You already have Android tablets, or would rather buy a few than standardize on a vendor's terminals.

Switching from ChowNow to Opero

Switching from ChowNow to Opero is a register change, not an ordering-platform swap, so plan it that way. The register, kitchen display and kiosk move to Opero on Android tablets you own, with one card reader for each register or kiosk that takes cards, bought from Opero, and your location goes live for card payments with Opero before the ordering page takes an order. You build the menu once in Opero (spreadsheet exports from common POS systems can be imported) and it is live on the register, the kiosk and the ordering page at the same time.

Two things change for your guests. First, the ordering link: replace the ChowNow link on your site, social profiles and any printed QR codes with your Opero ordering page, or paste the embed snippet into your site, and the old branded app goes away. Second, the channel: Opero is pickup only, so if ChowNow delivery or marketplace aggregation carried real volume for you, decide how those orders will reach you before you move. Opero is month-to-month, so you can run one location first and keep ChowNow at the others until you are sure.

Online pickup ordering is included on every Opero plan, with no per-order software fee.

See Opero online ordering

One price per location, month to month, unlimited screens.

See Opero pricing

How the pricing structures differ

PlanOperoChowNow
SoftwareOne price per location ($149 Opero or $249 Opero Full-Service); the register, kitchen display, kiosk, QR and online pickup ordering are all inside it.A tiered monthly subscription for the ordering layer only; your POS subscription is a separate bill.
Per orderNo commission and no per-order software fee. Card processing is quoted for your volume, never published as a flat rate.No commission, but a per-transaction charge on each online order; confirm the current rate on ChowNow's site.
Getting startedNothing added to the bill for the ordering page; switch it on per location once your card payments are live. One card reader for each register or kiosk that takes cards, bought from Opero.A one-time setup charge that varies by plan, plus whatever your POS already costs you.

Opero's prices are published per location per month on our pricing page. ChowNow's pricing is described here by structure only; confirm current plans, per-transaction charges, setup charges and contract terms on ChowNow's own site.

ChowNow vs Opero: FAQ

Is ChowNow a POS?

No. ChowNow is a commission-free online-ordering and marketing platform that connects to the POS you already run through its integrations. It does not ring sales at the counter, run a kitchen display or sell POS hardware. Opero is the opposite shape: the register, the kitchen display, the kiosk and the online pickup ordering page are one system, and the ordering page is not sold without the register.

Can I use ChowNow with Opero?

There is no ChowNow integration in Opero, and you would not need one: Opero's online pickup ordering reads the menu your register uses and lands on the same kitchen display without a connector. If ChowNow's branded app, discovery network or delivery option is essential to you, that is a reason to keep your current POS with ChowNow rather than a reason to run both.

Does Opero charge a commission or a per-order fee on online orders?

No. Online ordering is part of every Opero plan ($149 Opero, $249 Opero Full-Service, Enterprise custom, per location per month) with no commission and no per-order software fee. What you pay on each order is card processing, which Opero quotes for your volume rather than publishing as a flat rate. ChowNow is also commission-free, but adds a per-transaction charge on online orders on top of its subscription; confirm current terms on ChowNow's site.

Does Opero have a branded app or a custom ordering domain like ChowNow?

No to both. Opero's ordering page is a web page on operoos.com, one per location, with a multi-location picker for groups. Guests open it from a link or a QR code with nothing to download, and you can embed it in your own Wix, Squarespace or WordPress site, but the address underneath is still ours and there is no app with your name on it. ChowNow offers a branded mobile app and a website product as part of its platform.

Can guests order delivery from Opero's online ordering page?

No. The ordering page is pickup only and same-day only: guests pick ASAP or a 15-minute slot later today inside your hours, and cannot enter an address or choose delivery. Delivery orders in Opero are keyed in at the register with the drop-off address and handed to a DoorDash Drive courier, which is early access on Opero Full-Service. ChowNow offers a delivery product for direct orders; confirm how it works and where it is offered on its site.

Does Opero help guests find my restaurant the way ChowNow's discovery network does?

No. Opero has no discovery network and no listings product; guests reach your ordering page because you linked it from your site, your social profiles, a QR code on a window or a receipt. If new-guest acquisition from search, review and map listings is the main thing you want from online ordering, that is a genuine ChowNow strength and worth weighing before you choose a register-first system.

What does switching from ChowNow to Opero actually involve?

It is a register change. Your register, kitchen display and kiosk move to Opero on Android tablets you own, with one card reader for each register or kiosk that takes cards, bought from Opero, and your location goes live for card payments before the ordering page takes orders. You build your menu once in Opero and it is live on every surface at once. Then you replace the ChowNow link on your site, social profiles and printed QR codes with your Opero page. Opero is month-to-month, so you can pilot one location first.

Run your whole restaurant on the tablets you already own

POS, kiosk, QR ordering, kitchen display, inventory, labor, and payments on one spine — one per-location price, unlimited devices, no per-device fees.

More comparisons

Opero™ is a product of TackOn LLC. · The Restaurant Operating System